Skip to main content
Find more clinical trials

Memory Improvement Through Nicotine Dosing (MIND)

Start: January 2017
End: December 2020
Enrollment: 300

What Is This Study About?

Nicotine has been shown to improve attention, learning, and memory. In this trial, researchers will test whether nicotine delivered via a transdermal (skin) patch improves memory performance in older adults who are have mild cognitive impairment. Participants will be randomly assigned to wear either a nicotine skin patch or a placebo for two years during waking hours. Researchers will measure changes in attention, cognitive impairment, memory, mood, and other daily tasks. They will also look for changes in biomarkers in cerebrospinal fluid and on brain imaging of some participants.

Do I Qualify To Participate in This Study?

Minimum Age: 55 Years

Maximum Age: 90 Years

Must have:

  • Subjective memory concern reported by participant, study partner, or doctor
  • Abnormal memory function
  • Mini-Mental State Examination score of 24-30
  • Clinical Dementia Rating of 0.5 (very mild dementia)
  • General cognition and functional performance such that a diagnosis of Alzheimer's cannot be made
  • Medications stable for at least four weeks; memantine (Namenda) is allowed if stable for at least 12 weeks
  • Geriatric Depression Scale score of 9 or less
  • Study partner who has contact on average 10 or more hours per week and can attend most visits
  • Adequate visual and auditory ability to allow neuropsychological testing
  • Good general health with no diseases, disorders, or significant abnormalities that could interfere with the study
  • If female, must be two years postmenopausal or surgically sterile
  • Completed six grades of education or has a good work history
  • Fluent in English

Must NOT have:

  • Regular use of tobacco products within the past year, including cigarettes, pipes, cigars, chewing tobacco, e-cigarettes, nicotine patches, gum, and sprays
  • Any significant neurologic disease, such as Alzheimer's, Parkinson's disease, multi-infarct dementia, Huntington's disease, normal pressure hydrocephalus, brain tumor, progressive supranuclear palsy, seizure disorder, subdural hematoma, multiple sclerosis
  • History of significant head trauma followed by persistent neurologic deficits or known structural brain abnormalities
  • Major depression; bipolar disorder within the past year; or psychotic features, agitation, or behavioral problems within past three months
  • History of schizophrenia
  • History of alcohol or substance abuse or dependence within the past two years
  • Significant or unstable medical condition, including uncontrolled hypertension or diabetes, or significant heart, lung, kidney, liver, endocrine, or other systemic disease
  • History within the last five years of a primary or recurrent malignant disease with the exception of non-melanoma skin cancers, resected cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma in situ, basal cell carcinoma, cervical carcinoma in situ, or in situ prostate cancer with normal prostate-specific antigen post-treatment
  • Significant abnormalities in B12 or thyroid function tests that might interfere with the study
  • Significant abnormalities in screening laboratories or electrocardiogram
  • Residence in skilled nursing facility
  • Use of centrally acting anti-cholinergic drugs, such as donepezil (Aricept) and rivastigmine (Exelon), or other excluded medications
  • Use of any investigational drugs within 30 days or five half-lives, whichever is longer

If I Qualify, Who Do I Contact?

Contact study personnel listed either under the general study contact or the location nearest you.

Study Contact
ATRI Recruitment
mind-participate@usc.edu

Need Help?

Contact NIA’s Alzheimer’s and related Dementias Education and Referral (ADEAR) Center at 800-438-4380 or email ADEAR.

Who Is the General Study Contact?

For more information about the MIND study or study sites, visit www.mindstudy.org or contact ATRI Recruitment at mind-participate@usc.edu.

Where Is This Study Located?

Arizona
Perseverance Research Center
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
Recruiting
Laura Christians
480-471-6132
lchristians@prcresearcheducation.com
Arkansas
Central Arkansas Veterans HS
North Little Rock, AR 72205
Recruiting
Kalpana Padala
501-257-2044
Kalpana.padala@va.gov
California
USC Rancho Los Amigos
Downey, CA 90242
Active, not recruiting
Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian
Newport Beach, CA 92663
Recruiting
Adrienne Swietlikowski
973-850-4622
adrienne.swietlikowski@hoag.org
Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital
San Diego, CA 92123
Recruiting
Miriam Silva
858-836-8350
Miriam.Silva@sharp.com
Syrentis Clinical Research
Santa Ana, CA 92705
Recruiting
Rebeca Sanchez
714-542-3008
rsanchezCRC@gmail.com
Connecticut
Associated Neurologists
Danbury, CT 06810
Recruiting
Dawn Morsey
203-748-2551 ext 377
dawnmarie.morsey@wchn.org
District of Columbia
Georgetown University
Washington, DC 200072145
Recruiting
Margaret Bassett
202-687-2352
mjb438@georgetown.edu
Florida
JEM Research Institute
Atlantis, FL 33462
Recruiting
Belinda Russell
561-968-2933
brussell@jemri.net
Brain Matters Research
Delray Beach, FL 33445
Recruiting
Jetliza Lesmes
561-381-9060
jlesmes@ergclinical.com
Miami Jewish Health Systems
Miami, FL 33137
Recruiting
Eileen Diaz
305-514-8710
Ediaz1@miamijewishhealth.org
Brain Matters Research
Stuart, FL 34997
Recruiting
Jetliza Lesmes
561-381-9060
jlesmes@ergclinical.com
Georgia
Augusta University
Augusta, GA 30912
Recruiting
Paula Jackson
706-721-4152
paujackson@augusta.edu
Idaho
Advanced Clinical Research
Meridian, ID 83642
Recruiting
Adriana Freund
208-955-9030
afreund@acr-research.com
Illinois
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL 606113010
Recruiting
Brittanie Muse
312-503-5674
britannie.muse@northwestern.edu
Iowa
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
Recruiting
Karen Ekstam-Smith
319-353-5158
karen-ekstam@uiowa.edu
Maine
Acadia Hospital
Bangor, ME 04402
Recruiting
Krysta Anderson
207-973-7596
keanderson@emhs.org
Massachusetts
Donald S. Marks
Plymouth, MA 02360
Recruiting
Shelby Lydon
508-746-5060
shelbyl@dsmmdpc.com
New Jersey
Advanced Memory Research Institute
Toms River, NJ 08755
Recruiting
Anna Brocco
732-341-9500
ABrocco@amrinj.com
New Mexico
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87106
Recruiting
Jill Prestopnik
505-272-3735
jprestopnik@salud.unm.edu
New York
University of Buffalo (UBMD Neurology)
Buffalo, NY 14203
Recruiting
Connie Brand
716-323-0549
conniebr@buffalo.edu
Clarity Clinical Research
East Syracuse, NY 13057
Recruiting
Christine Hall
315-760-5905 x702
cshall@clarityclinicalresearch.com
New York University Medical Center
New York, NY 100166055
Recruiting
Anaztasia Ulysse
212-263-0771
Anaztasia.Ulysse@nyumc.org
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY 100296552
Recruiting
Allison Ardolino
212-241-0438
allison.ardolino@mssm.edu
Integrative Clinical Trials
New York, NY 11229
Recruiting
Khatuna Tsotsoria
718-444-7774 x122
khatuna.tsotsoria@iclinicaltrials.net
SUNY-Upstate Medical Center
Syracuse, NY 13210
Recruiting
Colleen Dillenbeck
315-464-3285
GeriResearch@upstate.edu
North Carolina
Wake Forest University Health Sciences
Winston-Salem, NC 27157
Active, not recruiting
Ohio
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH 43210
Recruiting
Jennifer Icenhour
614-293-6882
Jennifer.icenhour@osumc.edu
Oklahoma
Central States Research
Tulsa, OK 74104
Recruiting
Christy Lisenbee
918-955-4222
christyl@centralstatesresearch.com
Oregon
Providence Brain and Spine Institute
Portland, OR 97225
Recruiting
Lynette Currie
503-216-1034
lynette.currie@providence.org
Pennsylvania
LeHigh Valley Hospital
Allentown, PA 18105
Recruiting
Andrew Orzel
610-402-8447
Andrew.Orzel@lvhn.org
Penn State Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, PA 17033
Recruiting
Leonard Kishel
717-531-0003 ext 289860
lkishel@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
South Carolina
Roper St. Francis Hospital
Charleston, SC 294011113
Recruiting
Allison Lapp
843-724-2214
allison.lapp@rsfh.com
Tennessee
Neurology Clinic, P.C.
Cordova, TN 38018
Recruiting
Rebecca Sparks
901-866-9252
rsparks@neuroclinic.org
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN 37212
Recruiting
Amy Boegel
615-875-0955
amy.r.boegel@vanderbilt.edu
Texas
Houston Methodist Neurological Institute
Houston, TX 77030
Recruiting
Jennifer Garrett
713-441-9484
jmgarrett@houstonmethodist.org
Glenn Biggs Institute at the University of Texas Health
San Antonio, TX 78229
Recruiting
Amy Saklad
210-567-8229
SakladA@uthscsa.edu
Utah
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Recruiting
Anna Bradford
801-585-9450
anna.bradford@utah.edu
Washington
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195
Recruiting
Yeung Tutterrow
206-897-6350
ylt2@uw.edu
VA Puget Sound
Seattle, WA 98195
Recruiting
Anita Ranta
206-764-2339
rantaa@uw.edu
Kingfisher Cooperative, LLC
Spokane, WA 99202
Recruiting
Victoria Karschney
509-747-5615
VK@Kingfishercoop.com
Wisconsin
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI 53706
Recruiting
Alice (Yanmin) Li
608-263-4290
ali@clinicaltrials.wisc.edu

Who Sponsors This Study?

Lead: University of Southern California

Collaborator Sponsor

  • National Institute on Aging (NIA)
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Alzheimer's Therapeutic Research Institute

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov ID: NCT02720445